PX job accessing SYS.GV_$INSTANCE which doesn't exist

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

sarahendie
Charter Member
Charter Member

PX job accessing SYS.GV_$INSTANCE which doesn't exist

Post by sarahendie »

I am new to Ascential and just starting to develop Parallel Jobs.

I am getting the following error message when trying to run a Parallel Job using the Oracle Enterprise Stage (Oracle9 plugin).

Prepare failed for: GenericStmt_3
query is: select count(*) from sys.gv_$instance
sqlcode is: -942
esql complaint: ORA-00942: table or view does not exist

The Userid connected to Oracle was granted permissions to all of the tables specified in the Parallel Job Developers Guide (page 12-3) with the exception of SYS.GV_$INSTANCE.

This view doesn't exist in the Oracle Instance that I'm trying to access. I don't believe that our Oracle Instance is utilizing Oracle Parallel Server.

Tables Granted SELECT on...
DBA_EXTENTS
DBA_DATA_FILES
DBA_TAB_PARTITIONS
DBA_OBJECTS
ALL_PART_INDEXES
ALL_PART_TABLES
ALL_INDEXES

I have 2 questions:
1. If we aren't using Oracle Parallel Server (the developer guide indicates that this is optional), what to I need to look at in our Installation / Configuration to tell Ascential to stop trying to use SYS.GV_$INSTANCE?

2. I noticed in the Intallation Guide (Page 6-19) that in addition to the tables listed above, you also need SYS.V_$CACHE access. This table wasn't specified in the Parallel Job Developers Guide. Do we need to pursue getting this too?
mandyli
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by mandyli »

I think this is ORACLE database permission problem. Please contact your ORACLE DBA and tell him please give full rights to DBA_EXTENTS & SEGEMNTS.

Rgds
Mandyli
sarahendie
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by sarahendie »

Just wanted to let you all know how we got our problem fixed.