DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
dstager
Participant



Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

Points: 380

Post Posted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:51 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
I am getting sporadic errors while processing XML messages from MQ Connector. The structure is:

MQ -> Transformer -> Copy Stage -> XMLInput -> DB table.

`Xalan fatal error (publicId: , systemId: , line: 1, column: 3606): Invalid character (Unicode: 0x1A)

1. I've read that Datastage internally might split up the message into 512 chunks (causing the error), but I am not using a Sequential File stage...does the Copy Stage share similar characteristics of limited memory caching/chunking?
eostic

Premium Poster



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 3781

Points: 30365

Post Posted: Tue May 29, 2018 4:15 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Not sure about the chunking, but it certainly could be that a stray bad character got into your xml content from somewhere. I often send the strings thru an ereplace() upstream somewhere to zap an ...

_________________
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
Open IGC is Here!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
dstager
Participant



Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

Points: 380

Post Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 12:38 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks for the tip...however, ereplace() would only work if we knew or anticipated what the error was...no? Is there a generic function to zap bad characters?
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
kphanisharma



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 27 Oct 2010
Posts: 5

Points: 33

Post Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:21 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Looks like and character set conversion issue. 0x1A is substitue character and I think it will remain the same for all the bad characters. So, you can try ereplace() on that.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
dstager
Participant



Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 43

Points: 380

Post Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:11 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

What would be to syntax of ereplace to remove character set 0x1A?

Second question...Is it possible to reject the problematic Message into a file/table instead of just the 'warning message?
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours