New to DataStage and need advice on a massive file layout

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

precisionhealth
Participant

New to DataStage and need advice on a massive file layout

Post by precisionhealth »

I am very new to DataStage and have a request that I'm not even sure is possible or not in DataStage. I'm hoping someone can give me some general advice to point me in the right direction.

I have been tasked with creating a file extract from an Oracle based system. This extract has a file layout that is 180 printed pages long. The extract is a completely custom format that has a number of groups and sub-groups. For example, some of the record layout is as follows:

PATIENT_VISIT (will be thousands of records per run)
-> PATIENT_INFORMATION (e.g. name, address, SSN, etc.)
-> PROCEDURE_HEADER
-> PROCEDURE (can be many of these)
-> PROCEDURE_STAFF (will be multiple per procedure)
-> BILLING_HEADER
-> CHARGES (can be many)
etc...

At any rate, this request is a beast and I've already written it on another platform but need to convert it to DataStage. There are roughly 60-80 different Oracle tables being used in about 20-30 separate SQL statements that all need to be put together into this massive format.

Some of my questions are:

1. Is this even possible in DataStage?
2. If it is possible, would a Parallel or Server job be better suited?
3. I've been told that developing it all in BASIC in a Server job may work but I don't know how to connect to Oracle from BASIC. Is this even possible?

Being new to DataStage I may not even know if I'm asking the right questions here or not so if I'm not, I'd appreciate being pointed in the right direction.

Thanks,

John
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by PaulVL »

Welcome to DataStage.

Yes this can be done in DataStage.

I would always go parallel with any new DataStage jobs going forward.