Dynamically export files based on Config table

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

WILLIS
Premium Member
Premium Member

Dynamically export files based on Config table

Post by WILLIS »

Preface:
I am new to Datastage. I have been doing ETL for 10ish years with SQL tools but I'm struggling a bit conforming to the ways of Datastage. I'm at the bottom of the learning curve. I've done the Datastage Essentials course and just submitted payment for premium status. I've authored roughly 20 jobs thus far - most are pretty simple ETL.

What I'm trying to do:
The Job requirement is simple in concept, Export one file for every customer in a list.

What I have done:
(PJob1)
I have the parallel job setup to accept the following parameters:
FileName
CustAccountCode
This jobs works as I expect it to.

(C_Tbl)
I've created a config table with 3 columns
RecId | FileName | CustAccountCode

I want to loop through C_Tbl and pass each record as two parameters into PJob1 which creates one file for every record. I can't figure the sequence job out to do so.

I've read quite a few posts with similar questions which are posted from more senior level persons who have a better concept of the intricacies of Datastage. I'm struggling to fill in the blanks, so to speak.

What's the best way to accomplish the above?
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by qt_ky »

Welcome to DataStage, where you often have 2 or 3 ways to accomplish anything!

In this case you might want to try using a Server job to read records from the table, then a Transformer stage to call the DSUtilityRunJob() function for each record. Search on DSUtilityRunJob for more info.
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

True dat! :wink: