DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic has been marked "Resolved."
Author Message
irshanuddin
Participant



Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 44

Points: 530

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 9:42 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Hello,

I created about 30 stage variables in a job that are being reused for multiple calculations. I need to recreate these in a similar job and I was wondering if there was a way to export and import these stage variables across jobs.

Thanks
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42215
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 216749

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 10:14 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Not that I know of but perhaps others are aware of a mechanism. I would copy them (name, derivation, initial value, etc.) out to a scratch document and then paste them in the new job. If you are feeling adventurous, export the two jobs and copy in the stage variables portion from first job's dsx file to the second job and import.

Is there any possibility of putting the transformer in a shared container? Depending on how "similar" the two are, of course.

_________________
-craig

Watch out where the huskies go and don't you eat that yellow snow
Rate this response:  
irshanuddin
Participant



Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 44

Points: 530

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 11:03 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks Craig for the suggestions. I was hoping there was an easier way. Cant create a shared container due to different metadata. I guess I will have just open up 2 sessions on 2 monitors and copy each one over manually.
Thanks!
Rate this response:  
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42215
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 216749

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 11:46 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

There may very well be, it's just that I'm not aware of any. But perhaps someone else is! Very Happy

_________________
-craig

Watch out where the huskies go and don't you eat that yellow snow
Rate this response:  
PaulVL



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 1153

Points: 7639

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:34 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Doesn't dragging and dropping the stage in question from one job to a new one also incorporate the stage variables?
Rate this response:  
irshanuddin
Participant



Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 44

Points: 530

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 2:18 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

That's a good idea Paul.
I will try to copy and paste the transformer stage with the links. That should work.
Thanks!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42215
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 216749

Post Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 3:42 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Ah... it's the simple things we forget first. Sad

_________________
-craig

Watch out where the huskies go and don't you eat that yellow snow
Rate this response:  
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54034
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 293130

Post Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 2:12 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

You can copy the stage variables in one Transformer stage and paste them in another. You can also do this with columns, and you get the choice to paste the columns or just the column derivations ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
irshanuddin
Participant



Joined: 27 May 2009
Posts: 44

Points: 530

Post Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 8:20 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Paul, that idea to copy the entire stage did it for me.
Thank you so much!
I am glad it was a simple solution and not tedious copy and paste.
Rate this response:  
UCDI



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 267

Points: 2686

Post Posted: Fri May 12, 2017 1:58 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I feel like I am missing some of these copy/paste tricks.... in the same line of thinking:

Are there also ways to copy job parameters easily (I know I can copy the source job if starting from scratch, but its really hard to take a set from 1 job into another, export import is all I know for that)? And the other one, is there a way to fix a sequence job's target job, to switch from say one version to another, without losing the parameters? (Also fixable with export import as a last resort).
Rate this response:  
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54034
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 293130

Post Posted: Sun May 14, 2017 8:41 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

You should be using Parameter Sets.

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
UCDI



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 267

Points: 2686

Post Posted: Mon May 15, 2017 9:15 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Just to bundle everything, even if unrelated? I have been using them for related items, but not every single parameter is in one...
Rate this response:  
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours