REST Response Contains Slash Appended to All Elements

Dedicated to DataStage and DataStage TX editions featuring IBM<sup>®</sup> Service-Oriented Architectures.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm

gsbrown
Premium Member
Premium Member

REST Response Contains Slash Appended to All Elements

Post by gsbrown »

I'm new to REST binding and put together my first test.
The results data-wise I'm getting is fine, but I don't understand why it has the appended \r\n and extra slash characters all throughout the response. Is this normal or what controls that? I've tried both attaching the ISD_Output stage at the receiving end of the XML Stage directly and also tried dumping the JSON output to a sequential file and using the folder stage to ISD_Output. Both do this same behavior.

Code: Select all

{"result":"[ {\r\n    \"label\" : \"Clearance\",\r\n    \"path\" : \"/category/Clearance.do\",\r\n    \"Children\" : [ {\r\n        \"label\" : \"Bracelets\",\r\n ......
Any feedback on what causes this and if it can be tweaked somewhere that I'm missing? Thanks!
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

The double quote characters are being "escaped" so that they are not meaningful to any shell processing the payload and will be interpreted as literal quote characters.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Re: REST Response Contains Slash Appended to All Elements

Post by chulett »

Wasn't worried just about the escaped quotes...
gsbrown wrote:I don't understand why it has the appended \r\n and extra slash characters all throughout the response.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by qt_ky »