DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 221
Location: Singapore
Points: 2758

Post Posted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:12 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
We have established that data lineage handles changing a column name OK, for example across a Copy stage.

We would like to have any transformation(s) that a column undergoes (at least in a Transformer stage, ideally in a Modify stage as well) to be reported in data lineage, as well as all the other information. (We do have "generate operational metadata" enabled.) Does anyone know whether this is possible and, if so, how to go about it?

Thank you for your time.
eostic

Premium Poster



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 3764

Points: 30158

Post Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:26 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Transformer Stages yes. At this time, Modify no. (Lineage not traced thru modify for column name changes or other column lineage).

Ernie

_________________
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
Open IGC is Here!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54221
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 294071

Post Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 3:50 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I'm picking up column name changes OK, but cannot find in data lineage where the transformations themselves in a Transformer stage are reported.

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 221
Location: Singapore
Points: 2758

Post Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 10:57 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

We are seeing exactly what Ray is describing.

Is there any way to include the actual transformation in data lineage reports? And, if so, how?

Thank you for your time.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
eostic

Premium Poster



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 3764

Points: 30158

Post Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:29 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Yes.....drill down....right click and go to the detail page for the transformer and then click on the hyperlink for the output link or just float over it.....you will any formal string expressions/der ...

_________________
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
Open IGC is Here!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 221
Location: Singapore
Points: 2758

Post Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:51 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thank you so much. We will try that today.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours