How to finish a job with warnings based on reject link

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

fcapell
Premium Member
Premium Member

How to finish a job with warnings based on reject link

Post by fcapell »

Hi everyone!

Please forgive me if my question is too basic, but I'm a newbie.

I'm building some ETL jobs for this data warehouse project. Here is the architecture:

- DataStage 9.1.2 Machine (Windows 2008 Server 64 bits): engine tier and service tier;
- SQL Server 2008 Machine (Windows 2008 Server 64 bits): metadata repository database, source database, DW database;

I have this simple parallel job which takes records from an ODBC Connector stage and updates/inserts into a target ODBC Connector stage. On the target ODBC I connected a reject link to a Sequential File stage.

The job finishes with a successful status, even though when it got some rejected records. I would like to have it finishing with a "finished with warnings" status instead of just "finished". Here it's how it looks like on operations console:

How could I get the job finished with warnings based on reject link records?

Thanks!
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Welcome aboard.

Whenever records pass along a reject link an alert (warning) is generated. You cannot change this.

What you CAN do is to right click on the warning in the DataStage log and add a message handler to either demote the warning to an informational message or to suppress it from the log. I'd recommend demotion, so that you don't lose the information.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

ray.wurlod wrote:Whenever records pass along a reject link an alert (warning) is generated. You cannot change this.