Transformation Stage Problem with Column Names

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

DataStage101
Participant

Transformation Stage Problem with Column Names

Post by DataStage101 »

Hello Everyone

I am new to te Data Stage Designer, and i tried to create a simple Server Job but encountered a Problem.

In that job I loaded a table from a database on an SQL-Server using the ODBC Data Acess then linked it to a Tranformer to then Load the Data into another table in the same Database.

The problem is, when I do some mapping in a Transformation Stage, the columns that have spaces in between their names highlight red. Also, the job doesn't complie and it states that there is a general syntax error. I understand that column definitions in stages only allow alphabetical characters, periods, underscores but no spaces. I know that I could manually change the column names and replace any spaces with underscores.

An Example for a nonfunctioning Derivation is:
DSLink12.Entry No_

Is there any solution to avoid changing the column names(in the table Definiton or in SQLViews)?
Maybe there is some Way to put the column name in brackets
I already tried:
DSLink12.[Entry No_]
DSLink12.(Entry No_)
DSLink12.`Entry No_`
All of the above did not work.

All Help is greatly appreciated
Developer9
Premium Member
Premium Member

Re: Transformation Stage Problem with Column Names

Post by Developer9 »

Welcome Aboard

As new to the Designer (Datastage) ..I would suggest to follow the help documentation for each stage (here Transformer stage) while working with stages .

While editing the column derivation ,Right click on it then we see a option to insert "Input column"
Ex:DSLink12.Entry No ..we can include (DSLink12.Entry No)

Thanks
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »