DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
kduke

Premium Poster


since February 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: Dallas, TX
Points: 35013

Post Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:19 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I think stage variables should be imported and exported just as if they were columns in a table. It is very tedious to input these. This could save a lot of time.

The same is true for parameters. If I could import and export the parameters into a job as if they were columns in a table then adding all parameters from one job into another job like a sequence would save a lot of time.

I would also like to edit column names like you can in a transform stage on derivations. Stage variables all start with 'sv'. So if you added above features then I could import all the columns from a table then add 'sv' to the front of each column then have a stage variable for each column in a table. We had this at one customer where we had 3 stage variables for every inbound column. You quickly create this by modifying the original inbound table columns and then importing them into stage variables.

_________________
Mamu Kim
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54546
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295766

Post Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:28 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

There's always Parameter Sets for the parameters.

Stage variables should be easily do-able. Won't be in 9.1 though, this is only days away from GA.

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
kduke

Premium Poster


since February 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 29 May 2003
Posts: 5227
Location: Dallas, TX
Points: 35013

Post Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 9:43 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

The problem with parameter sets is you have to build them one at a time. A lot of time I need a parameter that will be used in a SQL statement so it needs to be the same type. So if I need a date range then I want to use the table column and then change the name. So I can quickly build it.

_________________
Mamu Kim
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours