production and development environment

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

dr46014
Participant

production and development environment

Post by dr46014 »

i am very new to datastage..rather new to dataware housing.i want to know what is the basic difference between a production environment and a development environment.when we create jobs in development environment how to move them to production environment.is there any specific procedure.are these two environment different...one on unix or other on windows..or something like that.is the repository is moved from one environment to other..please give a detailed description.i have searched similar topics in this forum but unable to find one..so if there is any previous post specify the link.i want to have a clearcut concept about it
thanks in advance
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

A good topic to research would be Software Development Life Cycle - more on Google, etc., than here.

The general rule is that, by the time things are in production, they've been fully tested and do not change there.

If changes are needed, those changes are wrought in a development environment where they undergo initial ("unit") testing, and are then more thoroughly tested - by someone other than the developer - probably in a separate test/QA environment. Failure to satisfy test criteria mean that the version in the development environment gets fixed, and more testing is performed until it's right. Only then can the work be given approval to be moved into production, and this must be coordinated with end users, particularly if the results they see will vary from the previous version.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kumar_s »