The runLocally() of the operator fail

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

The runLocally() of the operator fail

Post by Ultramundane »

Getting the error:
SS_V1406EDD_Extract,0: The runLocally() of the operator failed.
When I specify an incoming parameter named FilePrefix as:
FilePrefix="TEST."

However, when I specify a different value it works.
Example:
FilePrefix="TEST.ASCENTL."
works without any issues.

The full filename in the target stage is:
#FilePath#/Seq/#FilePrefix#V1406E.PROFCST

The design is
ODBC ==> Transformer ==> Seq File

Note: In both cases I made sure that the target file didn't already exist!

Thanks.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Re: The runLocally() of the operator fail

Post by Ultramundane »

More testing results. The algorithm of failure.

IF [ your jobname is PAndP01_020_V1406E_PROFCST ]
AND IF [ your login name is not pearsona ]
AND IF [ A PERIOD IS IN THE FIFTH AND LAST CHARACTER POSITION USED FOR FILE NAMES ]
DO FAIL
ELSE SUCCEED
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Re: The runLocally() of the operator fail

Post by Ultramundane »

I was able to find smaller algorithm.

Code: Select all

IF [ your jobname is PAndP01_020_V1406E_PROFCST ]
  AND IF [ your login name is not pearsona ]
    AND IF [ FilePrefix parameter is 5 characters long ]
      DO FAIL
ELSE SUCCEED
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Less than or equal to 5, or only equal to 5 ?
Is persona the user ID who originally created (first saved/imported) this job?

You certainly find the weird ones!
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Probably need another patch. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

ray.wurlod wrote:Less than or equal to 5, or only equal to 5 ?
Is persona the user ID who originally created (first saved/imported) this job?

You certainly find the weird ones! ...
The job fails when the FilePrefix is equal to any 5 characters and the rest of the conditions.

persona was the user who created the job in development and the job is failing in system test. The job was migrated using version control. The job was checked in and pushed out using the dsadm login.

In function test anyone can execute the job with any FilePrefix. Function test and System test are on the same server and Datastage instance. They are just in different projects.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

I can the run job in function test without problems. I removed the job from system test and re-migrated and the job still exhibits same characteristics. I migrated the job to a different system test project and the job worked. Seems to be something wrong with the project?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

If it were a specific file prefix I'd agree but, as it's not, that might be a bit of a long bow to draw.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

Argh...

I set to true the following to get more info:
APT_DUMP_SCORE
APT_PM_SHOW_PIDS
APT_STARTUP_STATUS
OSH_DUMP
OSH_ECHO
OSH_EXPLAIN
OSH_PRINT_SCHEMAS

The problem does not occur! I turned back to false. The problem occurs. :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Doo doo doo doo doo doo doo doo (Twilight Zone theme)...

Planning to experiment with which of the environment variables switches the problem off? That may help to narrow down the cause, curiously.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

Agreed. I had tried and found that changing the current status of any environment variable that is used for either reporting or px results in the job running successfully.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

Getting stranger. 8)

The default value of the FilePrefix parameter is 5 characters long. If I change the default to something that is say 17 characters long, I can now run the job with a FilePrefix that is 5 characters long. However, running the job with a FilePrefix that is 17 characters long (including not specifying and using the default value) results in the job failing.

Thus:

Code: Select all

IF [ project name is SMds01 ]
  AND IF [ job name is PAndP01_020_V1406E_PROFCST ]
    AND IF [ login name is not pearsona ]
      AND IF [ FilePrefix is length of default value ]
        AND IF [ no reporting or px variables modified ]
          DO FAIL
ELSE 
  SUCCEED
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

Appears to be tied to the length of the name of the job in that particular project. That is, if I rename the job to something shorter it works without problems. If I rename to something longer it works. If I rename to something the same length it still is quirky.

Code: Select all

IF [ project name is SMds01 ]
  AND IF [ job name is 26 characters ]
    AND IF [ login name is not pearsona ]
      AND IF [ FilePrefix is length of default value ]
        AND IF [ no reporting or px variables modified ]
          DO FAIL
ELSE
  SUCCEED
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

IBM cannot find the problem in their code. They want to close the case because changing any environment allows the job to work. They call this a fix. I call it workaround. I would like to have it fixed. They of course disagree because they don't know what to do or how to actually fix the issue.
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

One of my collegues brought a smiliar issue to my attention. It was server though. It had about 10 stages and long link names and stage names. The job name was pretty long too. One of the hashed file stages was ending abnormally. After trying different things without avail, i just make a copy of the job and renamed it to 'abc'. It ran like a charm. I did not report this to support. I kinda figured I was hitting a limit somewhere.
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Post Reply