Performance statistics for server jobs

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
bjkilleen
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:27 pm

Performance statistics for server jobs

Post by bjkilleen »

I am reading through the Ascential DataStage Server Job Developer's Guide to diagnose job limitations. It states, "This is done via the Tracing tab of the Job Run Options dialog box, select the stage you want to monitor and select the Performance statistics check box."

I know how to get the the Job Run Options but there is not a tab for Tracing. Is there something that needs to be "turned on" to allow this feature?

Brad
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Bring up the online help for Director and look for "Tracing Page in Options Dialogue Box", it has all the details. Basically, it should be there for compiled jobs as long as this hasn't been restricted by someone via the Administrator.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
bjkilleen
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:27 pm

Post by bjkilleen »

Craig,

Thanks. Apparently tracing has been restricted somehow. How would I go about unrestricting this funcationality to my DS Administrator?

Thanks,
Brad
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Log onto the Administrator as dsadm then check the "Properties" for the project you are having issues with.

Check the "Permissions" tab and make sure the appropriate groups are marked as "Datastage Developer" groups (it defaults to all but someone may have changed it). Also see if the "DataStage Operator can see full log" is checked, which it is (again) by default. Not quite sure exactly how this all ties back to your problem, but that's the first place I'd look for something like this.

FYI: Don't be fooled by the "Tracing" tab saying that Tracing is disabled, it is by default - but that doesn't keep the Tracing tab from showing up in the Job Run dialogue box.

HTH,
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

You are barking up the wrong tree with regards to tracing. If you're looking to diagnose bottlenecks in job designs, this ain't it.

Your friends for tuning are:
  • 1. Small, modular jobs
    2. prstat
    3. top
    4. glance
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
Teej
Participant
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:26 am
Location: USA

Post by Teej »

kcbland wrote:You are barking up the wrong tree with regards to tracing. If you're looking to diagnose bottlenecks in job designs, this ain't it.

Your friends for tuning are:
  • 1. Small, modular jobs
    2. prstat
    3. top
    4. glance
prstat?

Glance?

-T.J.
Developer of DataStage Parallel Engine (Orchestrate).
kcbland
Participant
Posts: 5208
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2003 8:56 am
Location: Lutz, FL
Contact:

Post by kcbland »

Glance is a product that provides a comprehensive system load:

Code: Select all

B3694A GlancePlus C.03.45.00    13:41:22 edwhost01   sun4u    Current  Avg  High
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CPU  Util   S  SU         U                                    | 30%   20%   69%
Disk Util   D                                                D |100%   49%  100%
Mem  Util   S SU             U                                 | 34%   39%   42%
Swap Util   U       UR                                         | 18%   17%   19%
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                  PROCESS LIST                      Users=   13
                              User      CPU Util     Cum    Block          Block
Process Name   PID   PPID Pri Name   ( 1600% max)    CPU   IO Rate    RSS    On
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
dsapi_slave  27355  27354  30 ardent   97.7/17.2  1913.5  0.3/ 0.0  40.8mb  NONE
oracleiwpro   6416      1  51 oracle   34.5/34.3    62.9  0.0/ 0.0  1.09gb SLEEP
phantom      29807  29797  40 ardent   29.7/28.0   113.1  0.3/ 0.0  11.0mb  NONE
ora_p016_iw   1199      1  52 oracle   28.4/ 0.2    43.4  0.0/ 0.0  1.09gb SLEEP
ora_p000_iw  18198      1  42 oracle   15.0/ 1.3   638.8  0.0/ 0.0  1.11gb  NONE
ora_p010_iw   1159      1  42 oracle   14.3/ 0.1    27.4  0.0/ 0.0  1.09gb  NONE
ora_p024_iw  14788      1  53 oracle   14.1/ 0.3    56.5  0.0/ 0.0  1.09gb SLEEP
ora_p001_iw  18200      1  57 oracle   11.6/ 1.3   645.6  0.0/ 0.0  1.11gb SLEEP
ora_p005_iw  18208      1  55 oracle    9.3/ 1.4   721.5  0.0/ 0.0  1.11gb  NONE
ora_p026_iw  14792      1  56 oracle    9.0/ 0.2    37.9  0.0/ 0.0  1.09gb SLEEP
ora_p007_iw  18212      1  53 oracle    8.6/ 1.4   710.4  0.0/ 0.0  1.11gb SLEEP
ora_p018_iw   1218      1  53 oracle    8.4/ 0.2    34.6  0.0/ 0.0  1.09gb SLEEP
prstat is Sun 2.8 version of top, a commercially available product of similar nature to glance

Code: Select all

 27355 ardent     50M   41M cpu1     0    0   0:32.36 6.0% dsapi_slave/4
 12017 oracle   1162M 1142M cpu24   21    0   0:00.10 2.1% oracle/2
  6416 oracle   1137M 1117M sleep   32    0   0:01.16 2.0% oracle/1
 29807 ardent     20M   11M sleep    0    0   0:01.56 1.4% uvsh/4
 18214 oracle   1154M 1134M sleep   32    0   0:05.34 1.0% oracle/11
  1199 oracle   1138M 1116M sleep   23    0   0:00.50 0.9% oracle/11
  1159 oracle   1138M 1115M sleep   59    0   0:00.34 0.9% oracle/11
 18204 oracle   1161M 1141M sleep   58    0   0:35.12 0.9% oracle/11
  1211 oracle   1138M 1115M sleep   22    0   0:00.35 0.9% oracle/11
 18198 oracle   1157M 1137M sleep   22    0   0:10.45 0.8% oracle/11
 14788 oracle   1138M 1117M sleep   58    0   0:01.02 0.7% oracle/11
 18216 oracle   1154M 1133M sleep   48    0   0:05.30 0.6% oracle/11
 14778 oracle   1138M 1116M sleep   34    0   0:00.52 0.6% oracle/11
  1218 oracle   1138M 1117M sleep   48    0   0:00.40 0.6% oracle/11
 14792 oracle   1138M 1115M sleep   58    0   0:00.43 0.5% oracle/11
 NPROC USERNAME  SIZE   RSS MEMORY      TIME  CPU
   134 oracle    120G  117G    99%   7:28.23  21%
    34 ardent    370M  201M   0.2%   1:41.33 7.5%
     3 patrol     18M   16M   0.0%  23:26.09 0.1%
    55 root      341M  238M   0.2%   2:43.22 0.0%
    12 billingj   55M   40M   0.0%   0:00.04 0.0%
     1 daemon   2544K 1200K   0.0%   0:00.00 0.0%
Total: 287 processes, 1335 lwps, load averages: 5.75, 5.04, 3.46
These are VALUABLE tools to see how much resources are available on a server, and how much resources your processes are using.
Kenneth Bland

Rank: Sempai
Belt: First degree black
Fight name: Captain Hook
Signature knockout: right upper cut followed by left hook
Signature submission: Crucifix combined with leg triangle
bjkilleen
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:27 pm

Post by bjkilleen »

Craig,

I have checked what you suggested and still am left in the same situation. Unfortunately, I have encountered other situations where the DS documentation shows one thing and our DS environment does not reflect what is documented. It is frustrating to say the least. Being a DS novice makes it more so. :(

Brad
chulett wrote:Log onto the Administrator as dsadm then check the "Properties" for the project you are having issues with.

Check the "Permissions" tab and make sure the appropriate groups are marked as "Datastage Developer" groups (it defaults to all but someone may have changed it). Also see if the "DataStage Operator can see full log" is checked, which it is (again) by default. Not quite sure exactly how this all ties back to your problem, but that's the first place I'd look for something like this.

FYI: Don't be fooled by the "Tracing" tab saying that Tracing is disabled, it is by default - but that doesn't keep the Tracing tab from showing up in the Job Run dialogue box.

HTH,
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Well, even if you are barking up the wrong tree it would be good to find out what happened to your Trace tab. At this point I'd suggest you give a call to Support and see what they can turn up for you.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
bjkilleen
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2003 1:27 pm

Post by bjkilleen »

Thank you, to everyone, for you feedback.

Brad
Post Reply