DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic is not resolved, but there is a WORKAROUND.
Author Message
Salegueule
Participant



Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 35

Points: 477

Post Posted: Tue Jun 04, 2019 1:35 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Hi,

New project deploy to production environnement and while running sanity tests; the jobs using the Assembly Editor of the Hierarchical stage are failing with the following message in Director :

Operator initialization: Input port 0 already connected; text:

Hierarchical_Data_Tax: Operator initialization: Input port 0 already connected; text:
0< [] 'External_Source_Tax:in_HD.v'

Hierarchical_Data_AJSTPRBR: Operator initialization: Input port 0 already connected; text:
0< [] 'External_Source_ajustementpourboire:in_HD.v'

etc...

These jobs are having the same design topologie and have been working fine in our dev environment for months.

External Source -> Hierachical Data -> Dataset

We are using the Assembly Editor to read an xml file supplied as input to the External Source stage. The error seems to occur when it try to get to the second stage. We did a job copy and removed the Hierachical Data stage and it with no error.

If we rebuild the same job under another name from scratch in prod; it does run fine. We did a dsx export of the new job created in prod and imported it into our dev environnement where it ran fine. We then generate a dsx file to reimport in the prod environement and it ran fine this time.

No differences in the dsx files between prod and dev.

Th original deployment to prod was made using a package and we recompile everyhting in prod.

Anybody did experiment such behavior?

Thanks
Salegueule
Participant



Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 35

Points: 477

Post Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 12:02 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi,

Problem seems to be related in using the hierachical data stage with a job using a parameter set value that has a single quote in it.

Running the same job with the same parameter set value without the hierarchical data stage is running fine with no error. Issue reported to IBM.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Salegueule
Participant



Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 35

Points: 477

Post Posted: Thu Jun 27, 2019 2:32 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

IBM replied that by design the parameter set content is exposed to the hierachical data stage. That is, even if the hierarchical stage does not make
use of the parameter set value. Therefore, if a param set value has a special xml-json character in it, it has to be escaped otherwise and error will occur at run time.

Since the DS jobs that make uses of the values with special characters are not using the hierachical stage, we resolved our problem by simply adding a new parameter set where we isolate the values with special characters.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours