DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
Havoc
Participant



Joined: 24 Nov 2006
Posts: 110

Points: 1005

Post Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:37 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 7x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Additional info: Job throwing a fatal error about sortRec
I have a job which aborts immediately and the error shown in the log is:

main_program: Fatal Error: The input interface does not contain component "sortRec".

Any idea why this could be happening ?

Thanks in advance Smile
ArndW

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 16318
Location: Germany
Points: 92566

Post Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:17 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Do you expect a column called "sortRec" in your input stream? What stages do you have? Have you tried to disable combination to see if you get a stage name that is causing the error?

_________________

Image
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54514
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295617

Post Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 6:32 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Please describe your job fully, including the stage types used and how they are connected. Post the generated OSH if you think that will help. There should be an event in the log indicating whic ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
AccentureTA



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 17

Points: 148

Post Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:23 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I am also facin this issue.
Please suggest your valuable comment on this.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
AccentureTA



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 17

Points: 148

Post Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 12:26 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I am also facin this issue.
Please suggest your valuable comment on this.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54514
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295617

Post Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:18 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Answer the questions that Havoc deigned not to.

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane

Last edited by ray.wurlod on Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:03 am; edited 1 time in total
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
keshav0307



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 783
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 3471

Post Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 6:58 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

i was having this problem, then raised issue with IBM and got a Patch for this..
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
AccentureTA



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 17

Points: 148

Post Posted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:13 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi Keshav,

Do you have the patch details? Specific version#s?

Thanks
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
shankar_ramanath



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 67

Points: 760

Post Posted: Fri May 21, 2010 11:26 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I realize that this post is somewhat dated. I faced a similar issue in the recent past.

The job schematic (pertaining to the issue) is as below
Code:

Modify Stage  --------       
                                       Join Stage ------- Output
Aggregator Stage --------


The job used "Same" partitioning on both input links for the JOIN stage. In the aggregator stage that feeds to the JOIN stage, the colums were sorted as "case-insensitive" whereas the columns emanating from the Modify stage had the sorting based on case-sensitive option (default).

The job compiled fine at design time, but at run-time, the dreaded error message "The input interface does not contain component "sortRec"" was emitted.

IBM Engineering support was quite helpful in resolving this issue and came back with the following comment:

Although there's not a DataStage defect here, we're aware that the error message that's emitted, 'Fatal Error: The input interface does not contain component "sortRec"', is not very useful in identifying the cause of the failure. While it's not feasible to detect every erroneous job specification, instances such as the one in <stage_name> could be caught at design time; this is something we hope to address in a future release.

I think, when faced with this error, essentially it boils down to being meticulous about looking into each of the stages and hunting down the root cause of the issue. In my case, it was the "case", but could be different for others.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
mmaneesh
Participant



Joined: 16 Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Location: Cochin
Points: 5

Post Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 2:36 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

HI ,
I have faced this error when a merge stage was used , similar kind of stages could give this error , the key field in the merge stage was not sorted properly.
Usage of a sort stage before join or merge stages could resolve this Smile

_________________
Regards,
Maneesh
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
dbalzer



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 2
Location: Berlin
Points: 9

Post Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 9:18 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

HI ,
I got this error message at DataStage 11.5 latest patch, it still exist. The reason was a wrong fieldname as sort column in a sort stage. It should be possible to find such a bug at compile time.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
meriem laradi
Participant



Joined: 08 May 2019
Posts: 1

Points: 3

Post Posted: Wed May 08, 2019 9:56 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

In my job i disabled the perform sort in hash partitionning on the join stage

_________________
mimi
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours