DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
amit.jaiswal_ATL



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 23 Oct 2014
Posts: 28

Points: 392

Post Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:04 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Hello All,

I was looking at this post about CLI options. Can you please send few examples of how this ./istool create package CLI was used to create package based on list of Datastage objects ?

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Amit Jaiswal
Atlanta GA USA
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42950
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 221500

Post Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:29 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

So... split you out into your own post and linked back to the original, resolved post you found.

_________________
-craig

Now I've got that feeling once again, I can't explain; you would not understand
this is now who I am. I have become comfortably numb.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
amit.jaiswal_ATL



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 23 Oct 2014
Posts: 28

Points: 392

Post Posted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:08 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hello All,

I got the istool command for creating the package. Here is the one which I have tested,

./istool.sh create package -domain <host name>:<port number> -authfile <authentication file path name> -pkg <package name> -datastage '-includeexecutable -includedependent -base=<host name>/<ds project name> 'TestingDepl_Job1.pjb' 'TestingDepl_Job2.pjb' 'complete assent list with appropriate asset extension''

Now I am trying to find the .pkg file on unix server. Please let me know where is this package getting created on unix server (standard path) ?

Thanks in advance!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42950
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 221500

Post Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:20 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Well... I can't speak to the specifics of this tool but in general, when something is created without providing a specific output path, it goes into the "current working directory". In other words, wherever you launched the command from. Regardless, I would think a "find" command looking for "*.pkg" would turn it up.

_________________
-craig

Now I've got that feeling once again, I can't explain; you would not understand
this is now who I am. I have become comfortably numb.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54514
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295617

Post Posted: Sun Mar 17, 2019 3:04 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Check that istool executed successfully. The command you posted here has a mismatched quote character. The easiest way is to check the exit status (that is, execute echo $? immediately a ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42950
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 221500

Post Posted: Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:18 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Or that... which would help explain why you can't find the package. Wink

Although I'm a bit surprised that it might silently fail. If you are doing this in a non-interactive environment (i.e. a script) then definite use that to check to see if it ran successfully.

_________________
-craig

Now I've got that feeling once again, I can't explain; you would not understand
this is now who I am. I have become comfortably numb.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Mike



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1020
Location: Tampa, FL
Points: 6593

Post Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:08 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I haven't used the istool command line in the most recent versions, but is "create package" an option now? Or perhaps the OP meant "build package"?

When using the IS Manager GUI, creating a package just puts the package definition into the XMETA repository. You don't get a package containing current versions of the objects until you build the package.

If there is command line support for creating a package, perhaps it just adds the package definition to the repository and you still need to do a build.

Mike
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours