DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54221
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 294071

Post Posted: Sat May 26, 2018 3:57 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

qt_ky wrote: A normal Lookup is doing something more behind the scenes that does not appear to be documented--as it reads data from the reference link, it writes it to some sort of memory mapped ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42574
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219084

Post Posted: Sat May 26, 2018 7:46 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Aha! Perhaps an option for you... pre-build that before recycling the job?

And kids, don't try this one at home - have the 64bit version of PX installed everywhere EXCEPT production. Large lookups work fine up until that last critical elevation. That was a not fun situation to walk into.

_________________
-craig

I know I don't say this enough, but I like when you talk to me. It's much better than when nobody talks to me. Or when people that I don't like will not stop talking to me.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2768
Location: USA
Points: 20827

Post Posted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:07 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thank you, Ray. That gives us another avenue to explore.

Must the server engine's uvconfig file be modified from the default of:
64BIT_FILES 0
to:
64BIT_FILES 1
and regenerated/restarted to enable 64-bit hashed file capability?

Craig, could you elaborate or post a link to your reference about the 64bit version of PX? I'm not sure what you meant by that.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42574
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219084

Post Posted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:54 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

First answer: NO. That forces every hashed file in the project to be 64bit. You just need to pre-create a hashed file as 64bit, I don't recall the syntax for that but it has been mentioned here and I'm sure it's in the docs somewhere. Ah... discussed here.

I just meant that the Production environment there was running the 32bit version of PX but 64bit everywhere else. Bottom line was things like lookups and their "memory maps" that ran fine in all of the lower environments could fail in production unless they handled the partitioning more better.

_________________
-craig

I know I don't say this enough, but I like when you talk to me. It's much better than when nobody talks to me. Or when people that I don't like will not stop talking to me.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours