DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
ajithaselvan
Participant



Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Location: Chennai
Points: 653

Post Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 12:11 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Hi,

I'm using Stored Procedure stage to call Oracle SP. In the data connection,
I'm able to pass the parameter for Data source and Username. However, I'm unable to pass the parameter for password as it accepts encrypted format.

Can you suggest the way to accept the parameter?

_________________
Ajitha S
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42578
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219144

Post Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 3:22 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Not really following. Passwords as encrypted parameters can be passed to anything, they are unencrypted during the process. Can you provide more details about your issue, please?

_________________
-craig

I know I don't say this enough, but I like when you talk to me. It's much better than when nobody talks to me. Or when people that I don't like will not stop talking to me.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ajithaselvan
Participant



Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Location: Chennai
Points: 653

Post Posted: Tue May 22, 2018 10:44 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I'm not suppose to hardcode the password inside the STP stage. It should be passed from sequence job. So I used the corresponding parameter name in the place of password, which is not getting accepted by this stage.

_________________
Ajitha S
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42578
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219144

Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 6:09 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

You'll need to let us know what "not getting accepted" means. If you are getting errors, please post them.

_________________
-craig

I know I don't say this enough, but I like when you talk to me. It's much better than when nobody talks to me. Or when people that I don't like will not stop talking to me.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ajithaselvan
Participant



Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Location: Chennai
Points: 653

Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 10:50 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Error: ORA-01017: invalid username/password; logon denied
is the error message I received

_________________
Ajitha S
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
FranklinE



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 25 Nov 2008
Posts: 679
Location: Malvern, PA
Points: 6425

Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 11:17 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

It could be as simple as a syntax error.

How are you typing in the Data source and user name? Do you just name the parameter -- parmDataSource -- or are you using the escape # -- #parmDataSource#?

I know that in other stages, you must use #, and in other stages you must not. Usually the difference is if you have an edit button for the text box.

_________________
Franklin Evans
"Shared pain is lessened, shared joy increased. Thus do we refute entropy." -- Spider Robinson

Using mainframe data FAQ: http://www.dsxchange.com/viewtopic.php?t=143596 Using CFF FAQ: http://www.dsxchange.com/viewtopic.php?t=157872
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ajithaselvan
Participant



Joined: 12 Jul 2010
Posts: 75
Location: Chennai
Points: 653

Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 12:41 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi Frank,
Im using like below
#parmDataSource#
#parmUser#
#parmPassword#

_________________
Ajitha S
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
FranklinE



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 25 Nov 2008
Posts: 679
Location: Malvern, PA
Points: 6425

Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 12:46 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I believe it's that the password is encrypted, and not being converted back to text by the runtime engine. I defer to others who use the SP stage to comment further, because I've hit the extent of my experience with this.

Good luck.

_________________
Franklin Evans
"Shared pain is lessened, shared joy increased. Thus do we refute entropy." -- Spider Robinson

Using mainframe data FAQ: http://www.dsxchange.com/viewtopic.php?t=143596 Using CFF FAQ: http://www.dsxchange.com/viewtopic.php?t=157872
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
UCDI



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 327

Points: 3307

Post Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 2:05 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

this could be TOTALLY unrelated and off the wall, but let me describe a recent issue I was having...

I was having my password constantly rejected for a teradata system. My password was rather lengthy and about 50% special characters (standard USA keyboard punctuation, math, and similar stuff like !@#$%^&*() etc). What seems to have been happening is that I stumbled across some password that, when encrypted, generates datastage control characters, maybe #junk#, or something, I do not know exactly what, but it just would not work.

I changed my password on that database and the exact same code and such worked perfectly since.

So, all that to say, maybe change your password, if you think you are doing everything correctly?
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2768
Location: USA
Points: 20827

Post Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 5:17 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I've experienced that as well. The software restricts a lot of special characters. There are documented here:

Naming restrictions for user IDs and passwords

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
UCDI



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 21 Mar 2016
Posts: 327

Points: 3307

Post Posted: Thu May 24, 2018 11:01 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

NICE, I looked but did not find this list.
Looks like the one I was using had at least 5 offending characters in it..

Also seems like login to the tool does not matter what you have, but inside jobs it will cause troubles.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2768
Location: USA
Points: 20827

Post Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 5:40 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

We have also worked cases where the password that contains prohibited special characters works just fine when you click "View Data" on a Connector stage but the same password aborts the same job at run time. The password-handling code behind the "View Data" service provided by the services tier is different code than the run-time code in the engine tier. I have not worked with the Stored Procedure stage much but would, perhaps riskily, assume it would behave in a similar way.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
jackson.eyton



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 26 Oct 2017
Posts: 106

Points: 1791

Post Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 1:49 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Just wanted to say this was a great eye opener to read, not current issues with this but perhaps just avoided any in the future. Thanks everyone!

_________________
-Me
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours