DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
jason2018
Participant



Joined: 03 Apr 2018
Posts: 3

Points: 20

Post Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 9:10 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 8x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
Additional info: Change_Capture: A field cannot be both a key and a value.
I design a parallel job with change capture, and my stage properties setting as follow:

Quote:
exclude values: some fields I don't want to compare
change keys: fields as keys
options:
change mode=Explicit Keys, All Values
other settings as default.


I absolutely assure that I pick up the right fields as the keys, and I check the "key" option of these fields in the columns list.
But when I run the job, I get the error:
Change_Capture: A field cannot be both a key and a value.

If I set
Quote:
change mode= Explicit Keys & Values
, and explicit the key fields and values fields, it works out.

How could that happen? I've spent nearly all day on that problem. Please help!
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42621
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219439

Post Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:40 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Welcome.

I've not used the stage in years so just going by the documentation that says:

Change mode
This mode determines how keys and values are specified. Choose Explicit Keys & Values to specify the keys and values yourself. Choose All keys, Explicit values to specify that value columns must be defined, but all other columns are key columns unless excluded. Choose Explicit Keys, All Values to specify that key columns must be defined but all other columns are value columns unless they are excluded.

I'm wondering if your problem with that last option was the "unless" phrase, was there any overlap between your key and exclude choices?

Edit: after sitting here and staring at my answer while the site slowly attempts to move elsewhere, I'm not sure how helpful it is. Normally I would ask if you've engaged support but if you're really still rocking version 8 of the product, that's not an option for you. Hopefully someone with actual hands-on experience will wander by today. Wink

_________________
-craig

And I'm hovering like a fly, waiting for the windshield on the freeway...
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
asorrell
Site Admin

Group memberships:
Premium Members, DSXchange Team, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 1675
Location: Colleyville, Texas
Points: 22771

Post Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 2:41 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

chulett wrote:
...after sitting here and staring at my answer while the site slowly attempts to move elsewhere...


Just got them to reboot the server. MUCH better now...

_________________
Andy Sorrell
Certified DataStage Consultant
IBM Analytics Champion 2009 - 2017
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42621
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219439

Post Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 4:26 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks Andy!

Cool

<makes me wonder if there's a memory leak gumming up the works>

_________________
-craig

And I'm hovering like a fly, waiting for the windshield on the freeway...
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42621
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219439

Post Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2018 12:38 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Jason, did you work this out, have a resolution?

_________________
-craig

And I'm hovering like a fly, waiting for the windshield on the freeway...
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
jason2018
Participant



Joined: 03 Apr 2018
Posts: 3

Points: 20

Post Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:45 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

there is not any overlap between the keys and the values. I've checked
that for several times.
I asked this question on stackoverflow too, but not get a solution until now
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42621
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 219439

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:45 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Have you involved your official support provider as well?

_________________
-craig

And I'm hovering like a fly, waiting for the windshield on the freeway...
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
jason2018
Participant



Joined: 03 Apr 2018
Posts: 3

Points: 20

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:32 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

the official support expired
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours