DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
thompsonp



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Posts: 194

Points: 1776

Post Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:16 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Additional info: RHEL
If we start with a basic installation topology where the Services, Repository and Engine tiers are all on the same server, how easy is it to separate the Engine tier from the other two at a later date?

They would all be on a single VM to start with and if there are performance or capacity issues (e.g. users experiencing slow response when the engine is busy), then separating the tiers could help resolve this without requiring additional licences.

I'd like some idea of how big a task that would be and if anyone has had experience of doing this?
PaulVL



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 1242

Points: 8154

Post Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:53 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Well, it's a reinstall if you do that.

IMHO, keep Websphere side by side with your Engine. I have seen components fail because of assumptions IBM made. The IRULES stuff for instance. Failed when it didn't have some of the WAS jar files in the path. So I would stick with a 3 tier install instead of 4.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
asorrell
Site Admin

Group memberships:
Premium Members, DSXchange Team, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 04 Apr 2003
Posts: 1671
Location: Colleyville, Texas
Points: 22748

Post Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2018 5:25 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Splitting it up later is not trivial and is time consuming. You did mention they are VM's. Virtual Machines are usually very cheap, and as you say, there's no licensing issue for splitting out the Services and Repository tiers.

I'd recommend doing it up front. You can always start out with smaller VM's and add CPU / memory later if it turns out you need more horsepower. That's trivial and can be easily adjusted.

Note: Be aware of IBM's licensing requirements for VM's. There are rules you must follow or you might be charged for every CPU in the entire Virtual Rack!

_________________
Andy Sorrell
Certified DataStage Consultant
IBM Analytics Champion 2009 - 2017
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours