DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
joycerecacho
Participant



Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 264

Points: 4992

Post Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:10 pm Reply with quote Back to top

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Hi everybody.

I am running a very simple job, basically ORACLE CONNECTOR -> DATASET and when job reads a varchar field with tilde, for example, it set the character '?' instead.

Example: So Paulo
Result: S?o Paulo

I guess it might be about 'NLS' configuration, but I've tried some and it's not been working.
I checked the Oracle NLS configuration and it resulted like this:

NLS_NCHAR_CHARACTERSET = AL16UTF16
NLS_CHARACTERSET = WE8ISO8859P1

Which configuration should I set at the Administrator for the NLS project?

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Joyce A. Recacho
So Paulo/SP
Brazil
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54036
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 293138

Post Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 5:13 pm Reply with quote Back to top

What are the NLS settings for Oracle? Have you mapped these in DataStage?

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
joycerecacho
Participant



Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 264

Points: 4992

Post Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 5:49 pm Reply with quote Back to top

Thats my question... what do I set at the administrator to correctly read this special characters from oracle? Like .

_________________
Joyce A. Recacho
So Paulo/SP
Brazil
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
joycerecacho
Participant



Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 264

Points: 4992

Post Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:47 am Reply with quote Back to top

ray.wurlod wrote:
What are the NLS settings for Oracle? Have you mapped these in DataStage? ...


Any idea, guys?
Where do I need to set to extract exactly the source characters, without replace some special chars by '?' ?

I tried to set NLS options at the Administrator (Paralllel Maps): UTF-16, UTF-8, ISO-8859-10, ISO-8859-1 but none of them worked.

Any tip?

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Joyce A. Recacho
So Paulo/SP
Brazil
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2654
Location: USA
Points: 19691

Post Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:04 am Reply with quote Back to top

When I am extracting from Oracle, I usually find it is sufficient to take the Oracle database's NLS_LANG value and set the same thing as an environment variable at the DataStage project level in the DataStage Administrator project settings' Environment.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
joycerecacho
Participant



Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 264

Points: 4992

Post Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 9:57 am Reply with quote Back to top

Hmm ... and which environment variable do you set for it?

Actually the unique thing that worked was the 'Unicode' option (at the extended property) in each VarChar Column of the Oracle read link.

Id like something that we could set at the project level, which would apply to all extracting jobs.

_________________
Joyce A. Recacho
So Paulo/SP
Brazil
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2654
Location: USA
Points: 19691

Post Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:34 pm Reply with quote Back to top

We don't set any existing environment variable; we add a new one named NLS_LANG and give it a default value that matches the same NLS_LANG value reported by Oracle.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
joycerecacho
Participant



Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 264

Points: 4992

Post Posted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:44 pm Reply with quote Back to top

At the result, we have NLS_LANGUAGE = 'BRAZILIAN PORTUGUESE'.

Do you mean set the new environment variable with this content?

_________________
Joyce A. Recacho
So Paulo/SP
Brazil
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours