DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
Vrisha



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 55
Location: Texas,USA
Points: 650

Post Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:43 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
I have a requirement that once the job got finished, it should populate the
JOB_NAME,
PROCESS_EXECUTION_ID,
PROCESS_START_DATE,
PROCESS_END_DATE,
PROCESS_DURATION,
ROWCOUNT_EXTRACTED,
ROWCOUNT_INSERTED,
ROWCOUNT_UPDATED,
ROWCOUNT_ERROR into a table called D_ETL_AUDIT_JOB_LOG.

Say for example, if I have 10 jobs after each job got finished , there should be an entry in D_ETL_AUDIT_JOB_LOG.

Do I need to create another parallel job to do this or should I use the sequencer to do this. Please let me know.

Thanks.

_________________
Suja
Mike



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Mar 2002
Posts: 1010
Location: Omaha, NE
Points: 6513

Post Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:21 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Why reinvent a redundant wheel? Everything you need is already available in DSODB.

Mike
Rate this response:  
Vrisha



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 55
Location: Texas,USA
Points: 650

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:33 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks for your reply, Mike. As you said, I went through this website 'https://www-304.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg21509567' and I checked the file 'D:\IBM\InformationServer\Server\DSODB\logs\AppWatcher_Cmd.

AppWatcher_Cmd has the contents like below

2017/08/03 21:10:15: DSODB is currently turned off. AppWatcher will not run.
2017/09/07 15:47:45: AppWatcher start requested.
2017/09/07 15:47:45: DSODB is currently turned off. AppWatcher will not run.
2017/09/07 21:20:10: AppWatcher start requested.
2017/09/07 21:20:10: DSODB is currently turned off. AppWatcher will not run.

Last it ran on 2017/09/07. Am I looking at the correct place? Please let me know. Thanks.

_________________
Suja
Rate this response:  
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42221
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 216780

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:42 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

I haven't been through all of the documentation (thanks Paul) but perhaps something here might help.

_________________
-craig

Watch out where the huskies go and don't you eat that yellow snow
Rate this response:  
Vrisha



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 55
Location: Texas,USA
Points: 650

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:45 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks, Craig. I will look into it.

_________________
Suja
Rate this response:  
PaulVL



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Dec 2010
Posts: 1153

Points: 7639

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:50 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Work with your DataStage admin team to see if the DSODB database is configured for your environment. It's not a mandatory item. But it is super nice to have.
Rate this response:  
Vrisha



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 55
Location: Texas,USA
Points: 650

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 8:59 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi Craig / Mike/ Paul,

I went through the documentation, it was very useful. But in our environment they didn't build/configured the DSODB database and not ready to do so.

Is there any other way to get the information without DSODB.

Thanks.

_________________
Suja
Rate this response:  
chulett

Premium Poster


since January 2006

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 12 Nov 2002
Posts: 42221
Location: Denver, CO
Points: 216780

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:36 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Sure but it's messy and painful... which is the whole reason that the DSODB was added to the product.

You can leverage the API for this, either from BASIC routines or from the command line depending on where your skillset lies, equivalent functions exist in both. For BASIC routines, search the documentation for the DSGet* functions. From the command line, leverage dsjob and the equivalent functions there. I would suggest the output be simply a flat file which, once fully populated, could be easily loaded into your table. This rather than each iteration trying to push records directly there. My two cents.

_________________
-craig

Watch out where the huskies go and don't you eat that yellow snow
Rate this response:  
Vrisha



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 15 Jul 2017
Posts: 55
Location: Texas,USA
Points: 650

Post Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:16 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thanks, Craig. I will try the methods suggested by you and keep you posted.

_________________
Suja
Rate this response:  
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours