DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic is not resolved, but there is a WORKAROUND.
Author Message
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2602
Location: USA
Points: 18932

Post Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:58 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 11x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Additional info: 11.3.1.2
We have a couple of categories containing 70+ terms, all of which need to be removed from the catalog, retained, and put back into draft mode for future revisions. The revisions would not be made in the near-future. Customer does not want the assets to remain published in the mean-time.

Does IGC 11.3.x allow one to un-publish (undo the publish action, or remove) glossary assets from the catalog?

The closest option I have found so far is "Mark for deletion," which upon publishing, it physically deletes the asset from the catalog. It also deletes the asset from the development glossary.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
eostic

Premium Poster



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 3701

Points: 29548

Post Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 10:12 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

There is no unpublish......but this might work.......export each glossary to its own xml expor.......turn off workflow if you can........delete each whole category using the gui......reenable workflow ...

_________________
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
Open IGC is Here!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 53984
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 292882

Post Posted: Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:21 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

On the downside of Ernie's solution, turning off workflow will cause all your history to be lost. Alas I can't think of a better solution. If you mark the item as deleted, and then publish it, a ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2602
Location: USA
Points: 18932

Post Posted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:23 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thank you for your responses.

Well, I am somewhat surprised there is no quick and easy path. I do need to leave workflow enabled and do not want to lose history.

"Mark for deletion" upon publishing physically deletes the asset from the catalog. It also deletes the asset from the development glossary. I did not find any trace of the asset remaining anywhere.

Looks like the workaround here is a variation of what Ernie suggested then, which is to export a backup copy, mark assets for deletion, publish, then import from the backup copy.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours