DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
This topic has been marked "Resolved."
Author Message
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 225
Location: Singapore
Points: 2795

Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:34 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 8x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Given that the negation operator (!) cannot be user with a floating position specifier (* or #), how might one construct a pattern to identify "string that does not contain a colon character"?

We tried to use !*\: but that ran into the problem mentioned above.

Thank you for your time.
stuartjvnorton
Participant



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 523
Location: Melbourne
Points: 3890

Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 8:05 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Have you tried it without the floating position specifier?
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54519
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295643

Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 10:15 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

stuartjvnorton wrote: Have you tried it without the floating position specifier? Assuming you mean !\: would not that identify only that the first character is not a colon? Similarly, ...

_________________
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 225
Location: Singapore
Points: 2795

Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:08 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I tried without the asterisk, but the behaviour was as Ray suggested.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
stuartjvnorton
Participant



Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 523
Location: Melbourne
Points: 3890

Post Posted: Wed Jun 04, 2014 11:17 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Couldn't check before I shot my keyboard off... Wink


Alternatively, some double-handling might work:

*\:
copy "1" Colon

& [Colon = ""]
; Do the bizz
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 225
Location: Singapore
Points: 2795

Post Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:31 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Yes, that works. Thank you.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours