DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 218
Location: Singapore
Points: 2728

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:13 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 8x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Windows
Information Center wrote:
IBM Cognos Business Intelligence provides capabilities and information that businesses need to manage their performance. If you have IBM Cognos Business Intelligence 8 or IBM Cognos Business Intelligence 10 and InfoSphere Business Glossary or InfoSphere Business Glossary for Cognos installed, you can view glossary content from directly within the IBM Cognos Business Intelligence interface.


Does anyone know how to configure this? In particular is there anything that has to be set up in Cognos so that it knows the location of the services tier for Business Glossary? I have scrutinized the Business Glossary Admin manual thoroughly, and searched Information Center, but without any luck,

Also, does this functionality require Cognos 10 or will it work with Cognos 8.4?

Thank you for your time.
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2741
Location: USA
Points: 20528

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:41 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I don't have Cognos, but I know to search Cognos docs rather than BG docs for this answer. Try this link as it has steps for Cognos 10:

http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/cbi/v10r1m0/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.ibm.swg.im.cognos.ug_cra.10.1.0.doc%2Fug_cra_id10451Configure_Business_Glossary.html

U can try searching the Cognos 8 info center on "Business Glossary" too.

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
vmcburney

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 3578
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Points: 27862

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:49 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

It's configured from Cognos, not from Business Glossary. You need to find the right Cognos admin settings screen and enter the Glossary URI. It works for Cognos 8.4 and Cognos 10.

_________________
Certus Solutions
Blog: Tooling Around in the InfoSphere
Twitter: @vmcburney
LinkedIn: Vincent McBurney LinkedIn
Rate this response:  
qt_ky



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 03 Aug 2011
Posts: 2741
Location: USA
Points: 20528

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:00 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

U can do it!

I always wanted to say that... Laughing

_________________
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
Rate this response:  
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54194
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 293930

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:09 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I would imagine that the appropriate Glossary URI would be http://hostname:9080/bg (or some subset thereof) but, presumably, you also need to configure Cognos with a user name and password. Maybe the ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54194
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 293930

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:31 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

The first URL is the Information Center for IBM Cognos BI version 8.4. http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/c8bi/v8r4m0/index.jsp Execute a Search for "Business Glossary" - a number of link ...

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
U
Participant



Joined: 17 Apr 2007
Posts: 218
Location: Singapore
Points: 2728

Post Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:49 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Thank you all, I will pass that information to our Cognos team and let you know the outcome. It may take some time - they say they're extremely busy. (But, then, it was them who demanded to know this information. Rolling Eyes )
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours