DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
kiranredz



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Location: United States
Points: 213

Post Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:02 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 8x
Job Type: TX
OS: Windows
Hi,

I am able to connect to my remote database server using ODBC.
I am successfully able to create type trees with this connection definition.

When I run my maps to load a flat file into the database, the map loads data into the tables for the first couple of times.

From the next run, I get a message saying target not available

What would be the possible issue?
I am wondering how I can debug this issue. Please help me.

Thanks in advance

_________________
Kiran
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54248
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 294235

Post Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:55 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Have you checked that the diagnosis is accurate - that is, the database server itself is actually unavailable, or has too many connections?

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
kiranredz



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 06 Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Location: United States
Points: 213

Post Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:36 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

ray.wurlod wrote:
Have you checked that the diagnosis is accurate - that is, the database server itself is actually unavailable, or has too many connections? ...

Yes sir. The database server is available.
As you said, may be there are too many connections to the remote machine.

I get the same error at times when I run my maps in my local machine too. Now, the database server is installed in my local machine; am trying to access the table in my local DB.

Thanks.
Kiran

_________________
Kiran
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
rep
Participant



Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 82
Location: New York City
Points: 1097

Post Posted: Thu Aug 20, 2009 12:26 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Do you have the database trace file, and does it contain any info?

For the first time I just tried using “burst” for a different reason, but maybe setting the burst to only one record at a time would help? Should be easy to test at least, just set the "fetchas" to burst and set the number to 1.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
jvmerc
Participant



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 94

Points: 812

Post Posted: Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:36 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

The standard map log will be insufficient when dealing with DB errors. You'll want to follow Rep's advice and turn on the db trace '-t'. run the map and look for a dile extention of 'dbl' unless you override the trace file name.
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours