DSXchange: DataStage and IBM Websphere Data Integration Forum
View next topic
View previous topic
Add To Favorites
Author Message
vmcburney

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup

Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 3587
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Points: 28069

Post Posted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:01 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

DataStage® Release: 8x
Job Type: Parallel
OS: Unix
Cognos 8.4 comes with a couple of new menu options - highlight a column and jump over to Business Glossary or jump over to Metadata Workbench (data lineage). Wondered if anyone was using this yet and how they got around the licensing issues. Seems to me that you would need a Workbench and Glossary license for every Cognos user for this to work.

_________________
Certus Solutions
Blog: Tooling Around in the InfoSphere
Twitter: @vmcburney
LinkedIn: Vincent McBurney LinkedIn
eostic

Premium Poster



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 3785

Points: 30409

Post Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:55 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

Hi Vincent....it's my impression that you have to have a Business Glossary Anywhere license for that user, which would also presume you have a BG license and for lineage, a Workbench license. I have it working....it's a nice integration.

Ernie

_________________
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
Open IGC is Here!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
ray.wurlod

Premium Poster
Participant

Group memberships:
Premium Members, Inner Circle, Australia Usergroup, Server to Parallel Transition Group

Joined: 23 Oct 2002
Posts: 54400
Location: Sydney, Australia
Points: 295062

Post Posted: Mon Dec 08, 2008 3:33 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

Therefore a licence for every Cognos user who wants to access the technology?

_________________
RXP Services Ltd
Melbourne | Canberra | Sydney | Hong Kong | Hobart | Brisbane
currently hiring: Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne (especially seeking good business analysts)
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
eostic

Premium Poster



Group memberships:
Premium Members

Joined: 17 Oct 2005
Posts: 3785

Points: 30409

Post Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 2:48 pm Reply with quote    Back to top    

I steadfastly remain a "technical guy" and not a "pricing one"....but I am told that the Cognos feature for access to BG uses the BGA tooling under the covers....so would in theory justify a BGA license for each Cognos user desiring such access. This is a discussion for each site with their selling representative.

Ernie

_________________
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
Open IGC is Here!
Rate this response:  
Not yet rated
Guest







Points: 25

Post Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:18 am Reply with quote    Back to top    

hi,
i m new beginig work with cognos ,
if u have any tuto or document on cognos can u send me plz

id_2pc@yahoo.com
thanks
     
Not yet rated
Display posts from previous:       

Add To Favorites
View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Theme & Graphics by Daz :: Portal by Smartor
All times are GMT - 6 Hours