Surrogate Key Suggestions from the experts

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

paulhill20
Participant

Surrogate Key Suggestions from the experts

Post by paulhill20 »

All:
I am a DataStage novice so please provide as detailed feedback as you see fit and have time for; I am researching this but figured I would ask you, the expert DataStage users/developers, for your suggestions.
I have a Custom Stage written in C++/Oracle Pro*C/C++ that fetches a sequence value (NEXTVAL) from the database; my research on its usage suggests that its only function is to generate a surrogate key.
The stage takes an input data stream, the Oracle information (sequence name, schema, password, sid) and simply tacks on the nextval; if you picture it, it is one icon.
Having said that, I am looking to replace that one icon with a more "maintenace friendly solution". Could you please provide suggestions on possible approaches to replace the one icon with another icon that performs the same function (getting the nextval from Oracle in a datastream providing the sequence name).
Please keep in mind that because the existing stage is an Orchestrate based routine it comes with all the apparent "parallelism" that is part of the Parallel Extender and that I am looking to maintain the performance levels if possible.
Thank you,
Stephen de Vries
Mat01
Premium Member
Premium Member

Post by Mat01 »

One solution is to modify your sequence to add one step to get the value and one to assign it to a job. What I have is a sequence like the following:

1. Job to get DB Key and write to a file --> 2. Routine to get the value from UNIX (cat) --> 3. Job for your surrogate key job (Surrogate key stage using your key value as starting point).

It is a little more complex Datastage wise but probably simpler to maintain than a stored proc.

Regards,

Mat
T42
Participant