Log files of a Datastage Job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

rajeev_prabhuat
Participant

Log files of a Datastage Job

Post by rajeev_prabhuat »

Hi,

I am working in DS 7.X and using Parallel extender properties, i am new to DS 7.x.

I developed 4 jobs and i had run 4 jobs y'day evening and went home. Each job loads about 1 million rows. When I came to see the same this morning, only 400,000 rows were loaded and the 4 jobs aborted. I tried to view the log for one of the jobs, but on the Director, it just says "Retrieving" and the process is hung. This is possibly due to a huge log file.

My query is: apart from Director, can we see the log file manually? Is the log file located on the server. If so, let me know where in the directory is it located?

Regards,
Rajeev Prabhu
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

DataStage job logs are located on the server.

However they are not log files, as you have assumed. They are database tables in the repository.

If you determine the job number of your job, from the DS_JOBS table, then the log for that job is a table called RT_LOGnnn, where nnn is the job number.

You can view them from the operating system using the command line interface dsjob with its -log... options.

You can view them from the Administrator client command window with a regular query, for example

Code: Select all

SELECT * FROM RT_LOGnnn;
Search the forum for more information about viewing and archiving DataStage job logs.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
rajeev_prabhuat
Participant

Hi,

Ray Thanks you.

But when i was going through the DS documents that we get during instation, i came to see that log files are stored in hash files. Is there anyway to reduce the size of the log files?.