Page 1 of 1

Node.apt file on Virtual server

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:20 am
by tine_bi
Hi

We currently have a server setup with 2 cpu for our prod enviroment.
We now look at virtual server setup with
2 sockets and 32 virtual processors.
Drives: E, F

Our current node.apt

Code: Select all

{
	node "node1"
	{
		fastname "DSsrv1"
		pools ""
		resource disk "E:/Datasets" {pools ""}
		resource scratchdisk "F:/Scratch" {pools "sort"}
		resource scratchdisk "E:/Scratch" {pools "sort"}
		resource scratchdisk "F:/Buffer" {pools "buffer"}
		resource scratchdisk "E:/Buffer" {pools "buffer"}
	}
	node "node2"
	{
		fastname "DSsrv1"
		pools ""
		resource disk "E:/Datasets" {pools ""}
		resource scratchdisk "E:/Scratch" {pools "sort"}
		resource scratchdisk "F:/Scratch" {pools "sort"}
		resource scratchdisk "E:/Buffer" {pools "buffer"}
		resource scratchdisk "F:/Buffer" {pools "buffer"}

	}
}
This works under current settings. But should we change this in a virtual setting, and if so to what?

Appreciate any input as this is unknown terrain for me.

BR
Dan

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:18 pm
by PaulVL
Don't forget to add pool "" to your scratchdisk entries.

Your quantity of logical nodes does not need to match the quantity of physical CPUs (or virtual CPUs).

You could have your node.apt file with 8, 16, 32, etc... entries, not just 2.

Performance would take a hit the higher you go, but you COULD do it.

You have to balance degrees of parallelism (your 2 nodes) multiplied by the quantity of concurrent jobs, factoring in the complexity of the jobs, in order to get a sense of how much you will stress your itty bitty PROD box.

Remember that your virtual box sounds bigger than your physical, you may have to see how that affects your licensing.

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:04 am
by tine_bi
PaulVL wrote:Don't forget to add pool "" to your scratchdisk entries.
So I should have it like this then

resource scratchdisk "E:/Scratch" {pools "" "sort"}

After reading several posts and articles I now will test having 4 entries not just 2.

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2018 3:10 pm
by PaulVL
Are you having issues with the duration of your job?

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:03 am
by tine_bi
Yes, we experience that we now need to expand the node.apt file to have 4 nodes, not just two.

And I now want to understand why :)


Dan

Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:57 pm
by ray.wurlod
I would argue that, in a Development environment, you only ever need a one-node and a two-node configuration file. The only exception is where you need to develop with node pools. If a job runs on two nodes, it will run on 2000.

Virtual server makes no difference.
Switching to a cluster or grid topology would make a difference.