Pass input column values on output link on MQ Connector

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
kamalshil
Participant
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:19 am

Pass input column values on output link on MQ Connector

Post by kamalshil »

Hi,
I am using MQ Connector Stage for writing a XML Message which I am generating from XML output stage.

My requirement is write the generated XML to Queue.
And Read the output message received on the reply queue on the output link on th MQ connector stage.

Till this scenario its working fine.

Now 2nd condition I am try to pass 4 input columns to the output link of MQ stage but those are getting drop.

Is there any way I can get this values on the output link.
kamalshil
Participant
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:19 am

Post by kamalshil »

Example of columns :

Code: Select all

Column A - Goes to Queue
Column B - Pass through on the output link
Column C - Pass through on the output link
kamalshil
Participant
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:19 am

Post by kamalshil »

One additional Info:
Send 4 columns on the input link of the MQ connector stage.
Only 1st Column got written to the Queue remaining all 3 columns got discarded.
eostic
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:34 am

Post by eostic »

My memory on the MQ Connector is that you have to "put" the entire message....if you want the four columns in the message body, concatenate them together into one column before going to the final input link into the MQ Connector.

Ernie
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
<a href="https://dsrealtime.wordpress.com/2015/0 ... ere/">Open IGC is Here!</a>
kamalshil
Participant
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:19 am

Post by kamalshil »

Thanks for information.
I have already this that by concatenate and write to final input.
Is there a way we can pass through few input columns on the output link??
eostic
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 3838
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 9:34 am

Post by eostic »

I don't think so...it's not a natural "pass thru" kind of Stage....that works for some stages that make sense as an intermediate "active" and "in flow" stage, but MQ is nearly always in a source-only or target-only pattern. If you are doing something creative with MQ, great --- but if you need to carry a column around it, try doing it via another path of links......be careful though ---- it could create some interesting race conditions that you might need to deal with in EE.

Ernie
Ernie Ostic

blogit!
<a href="https://dsrealtime.wordpress.com/2015/0 ... ere/">Open IGC is Here!</a>
Post Reply