shell script permission denied error

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

shell script permission denied error

Post by abc123 »

I have an execute command stage in a sequence job. I am running the following command in the execute command stage:

sqlplus Userid/Pwd@SrcName < /fullpath/MySqScript.sql

When I try to execute the sequence job, I get the following error:

seqJob..JobControl (@ExecCmd1): Executed:
sqlplus Userid/Pwd@SrcName < /fullpath/MySqScript.sql;
Reply=1
Output from command ====>
sh: /fullpath/MySqScript.sql: Permission denied

I tried doing the other way as well:
Command: sqlplus
Parameters: Userid/Pwd@SrcName < /fullpath/MySqScript.sql

Same result. The file, MySqScript.sql, has full chmod 777 permissions. Any ideas?

[Note: Title changed since this technically isn't a "SQL Plus" error - Andy]
Mike
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Post by Mike »

Also check the permissions at every level of /fullpath.

Mike
abc123
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 605
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:24 am

Post by abc123 »

I did. They all have:

drwxr-xr-x

Also, when I execute:

sqlplus Userid/Pwd@SrcName < /fullpath/MySqScript.sql

from within /fullpath/, it works fine.
priyadarshikunal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:44 am
Location: Troy, MI

Post by priyadarshikunal »

with limited information you have provided, i think if fullPath is a parameter, you are passing that incorrectly.
Priyadarshi Kunal

Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped. :wink:
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

From a permissions standpoint when you say "when I execute" that's only a valid test if you are logged in as the same user that executes the job.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
PaulVL
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1315
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:36 pm

Post by PaulVL »

Long shot but... Go look in your project path to see if some dastardly person created a file called sqlplus.

Then type in "which sqlplus" to see where you are pulling it from.
UCDI
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 2:00 pm

Post by UCDI »

Try making a dummy script that does nothing except echo your username and password to the screen to see if those are coming to the script as expected?


As a side effect, if a script that does nothing except echo fails, you have a problem with permissions to run scripts?
Post Reply