Using Parameter with in a Parmeter

A forum for discussing DataStage<sup>®</sup> basics. If you're not sure where your question goes, start here.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
G.K.K
Participant
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 6:54 am

Using Parameter with in a Parmeter

Post by G.K.K »

Hi,

I want to use select query in the parameter where dabasename and schema name is again a parameter .

In some of the select queries we have join on multiple tables and other select queries we don't have join . So, if join on multiple tables is part of a select query then how to use it in parameter to make it generalize. So, can we call a parameter within a parameter?


Thanks In Advance.
G.K.K
dxk9
Participant
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 12:46 am
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Post by dxk9 »

Yes, you can call a parameter inside another. Just make sure both the calling & the called parameter are given values at environment level or job level.

Regards,
Divya
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

No, you cannot. Multiple levels of parameter "resolution" are not supported.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kommven
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2004 12:37 pm

Post by kommven »

I know that parameters are Serial and cannot be embedded in between.
Lets assume that you have

Code: Select all

parameterA = 'Hello World'
ParameterB = 'Big' 
You can combine them as 'Big Hello World' and 'Hello World Big' but you can never get 'Hello Big World'
But you can define ParameterA = 'Hello' ParameterB = 'Big' and ParameterC = 'World'

chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

But that's the question, "in between" or "within". What you cannot do is define a job parameter (let's call it B) and for some portion of B you reference another job parameter - let's say A:

Parameter A: "1"
Parameter B: "100":#A#:"002"
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
sandeepgs
Participant
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 12:22 am

Re: Using Parameter with in a Parmeter

Post by sandeepgs »

G.K.K wrote:Hi,

I want to use select query in the parameter where dabasename and schema name is again a parameter .

In some of the select queries we have join on multiple tables and other select queries we don't have join . So, if join on multiple tables is part of a select query then how to use it in parameter to make it generalize. So, can we call a parameter within a parameter?


Thanks In Advance.
G.K.K

Hi,

Give us a proper example to explain you in a better way.

Regards,
Gorthi.
siva.dwhbi
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 11:39 am
Location: Chennai

Post by siva.dwhbi »

No G.K.K..
you can not use parameter with in a parameter.
Sivakumar Ganesan
-----------------------
Chennai, TN,India
Post Reply