Description from Restriction list

Formally known as "Mercator Inside Integrator 6.7", DataStage TX enables high-volume, complex transactions without the need for additional coding.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm

dstx_1
Participant

Post by dstx_1 »

Hello,
I am new to Datastage and need some help with map designer. I need to know if there a way to do a lookup in the map on the element restriction list ?.

For Example :
In a X12 210 invoice, there is a element BilledRatedAsQualifier and it has a include restriction list as follows:

Include Description
BA Barrels
BX Box.

In my map, when I encounter value BX , I need to display "Box" in my output file instead of the value "BX"

Thanks in advance for your help
boblopez1
Participant

Post by boblopez1 »

Welcome Aboard, you'll notice that with TX there are many ways to skin a cat the simplest in this case is:

=IF(BilledRatedAsQualifier="BX","Box")

Regards,
Bob Lopez
dstx_1
Participant

Post by dstx_1 »

Bob, Thanks! for the response. But there are lot of values possible for BilledRatedAsQualifier and each one of them has a different description. The only place these values and it's description is available is in the Restriction list that is setup for this element.

I was hoping to read the value from the Inbound 210 X12 file and do a lookup against the restriction list to get the description.

Therefore what I was looking for was a way to access the restriction list from the map.

Thanks
jvmerc
Participant

Post by jvmerc »

As far as I know you can't refer to the description. You can refer to the 'include' value that the description defines.

Use the member function......

something like

if(member(element:with:include_value, {"XX", "ZZ", "30"}),
do process,
else do whatever)

If you bring up the function window in the map it will provide an example of how to define/format the rule.
jvmerc
Participant

Post by jvmerc »