run SP in datastage

Archive of postings to DataStageUsers@Oliver.com. This forum intended only as a reference and cannot be posted to.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm

Locked
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

run SP in datastage

Post by admin »

Hi, all

I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix database, This store procedure can unload result inside procedure into an existing table . so what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by using Datastage job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.

Thanks in advance.

xiong
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by admin »

Xiong,

There may be a more efficient way to do this, but you can add the SP to a script and then call that script from a before or after job subroutine.

Hope that helps !
Stacy Scoggins
--- Xiong Li wrote:
> Hi, all
>
> I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix database, This
> store procedure can unload result inside procedure into an existing
> table . so
> what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by using
> Datastage
> job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.
>
> Thanks in advance.
>
> xiong
>
>
>


__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by admin »

Stacy:

This is exactly what I am thinking, Could you please explain it in detail?

Thank you very much

xiong

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> Sent: 09 March 2001 04:31
> To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> Subject: Re: run SP in datastage
>
> Xiong,
>
> There may be a more efficient way to do this, but you can add the SP
> to a script and then call that script from a before or after job
> subroutine.
>
> Hope that helps !
> Stacy Scoggins
> --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > Hi, all
> >
> > I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix database,
> > This store procedure can unload result inside procedure into an
> > existing table . so
> > what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by using
> > Datastage
> > job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.
> >
> > Thanks in advance.
> >
> > xiong
> >
> >
> >
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by admin »

Xiong

In the specific example that I am thinking of, we were using an NT Server as the DS server using DS 3.63, loading to an Oracle Database. SQL + was installed on the DS Server.

We had the DBA write a script/batch that could be called from the command line of the NT Server. For example, lets say the script was called SP.bat.

We created a dummy job that had an sequential stage input, a transform, and a sequential output. As a before job subroutine, we called the SP.bat. The input sequential file was empty and this job essentially did nothing but run the stored procedure. This job could have easily included stages that accomplished something as well as running the stored procedure.

That basically it, when this job ran - it ran the stored procedure by calling this SP.bat as a before job routine.

Let me know if you need any additional information.

Stacy


--- Xiong Li wrote:
> Stacy:
>
> This is exactly what I am thinking, Could you please explain it in
> detail?
>
> Thank you very much
>
> xiong
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> > Sent: 09 March 2001 04:31
> > To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> > Subject: Re: run SP in datastage
> >
> > Xiong,
> >
> > There may be a more efficient way to do this, but you can add the
> SP
> > to a script and then call that script from a before or after job
> > subroutine.
> >
> > Hope that helps !
> > Stacy Scoggins
> > --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > > Hi, all
> > >
> > > I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix
> database,
> > > This store
> > > procedure can unload result inside procedure into an existing
> table
> > > . so
> > > what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by
> using
> > > Datastage
> > > job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.
> > >
> > > Thanks in advance.
> > >
> > > xiong
> > >
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
> > __________________________________________________
> > Do You Yahoo!?
> > Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> > http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
>



__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by admin »

Hi, Stacy

Good point, I know what I should do.

Thanks you very much,

xiong

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> Sent: 09 March 2001 09:00
> To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> Subject: RE: run SP in datastage
>
> Xiong
>
> In the specific example that I am thinking of, we were using an NT
> Server as the DS server using DS 3.63, loading to an Oracle Database.
> SQL + was installed on the DS Server.
>
> We had the DBA write a script/batch that could be called from the
> command line of the NT Server. For example, lets say the script was
> called SP.bat.
>
> We created a dummy job that had an sequential stage input, a
> transform, and a sequential output. As a before job subroutine, we
> called the SP.bat. The input sequential file was empty and this job
> essentially did nothing but run the stored procedure. This job could
> have easily included stages that accomplished something as well as
> running the stored procedure.
>
> That basically it, when this job ran - it ran the stored procedure by
> calling this SP.bat as a before job routine.
>
> Let me know if you need any additional information.
>
> Stacy
>
>
> --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > Stacy:
> >
> > This is exactly what I am thinking, Could you please explain it in
> > detail?
> >
> > Thank you very much
> >
> > xiong
> >
> > > -----Original Message-----
> > > From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> > > Sent: 09 March 2001 04:31
> > > To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> > > Subject: Re: run SP in datastage
> > >
> > > Xiong,
> > >
> > > There may be a more efficient way to do this, but you can add the
> > SP
> > > to a script and then call that script from a before or after job
> > > subroutine.
> > >
> > > Hope that helps !
> > > Stacy Scoggins
> > > --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > > > Hi, all
> > > >
> > > > I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix
> > database,
> > > > This store
> > > > procedure can unload result inside procedure into an existing
> > table
> > > > . so
> > > > what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by
> > using
> > > > Datastage
> > > > job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.
> > > >
> > > > Thanks in advance.
> > > >
> > > > xiong
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> > > __________________________________________________
> > > Do You Yahoo!?
> > > Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> > > http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
> >
>
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by admin »

Some more food (or options) for thought.

To make it more obvious, Id think about having a job whose sole purpose in life is to run this script and put the code to run the script on the job control instead of in a before-job routine.

Another thought. You might like to try calling the procedure from ODBC, called from Basic code. I think it can handle stored procedures. This would involve learning a bit more about how to call ODBC though. (I forget which manual it is in - Im sure Ray or someone else can supply the reference for you.)

-----Original Message-----
From: Xiong Li [SMTP:Xiong.Li@nzbsg.co.nz]
Sent: Friday, March 09, 2001 9:57 AM
To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
Subject: RE: run SP in datastage

Hi, Stacy

Good point, I know what I should do.

Thanks you very much,

xiong

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> Sent: 09 March 2001 09:00
> To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> Subject: RE: run SP in datastage
>
> Xiong
>
> In the specific example that I am thinking of, we were using an NT
> Server as the DS server using DS 3.63, loading to an Oracle Database.
> SQL + was installed on the DS Server.
>
> We had the DBA write a script/batch that could be called from the
> command line of the NT Server. For example, lets say the script was
> called SP.bat.
>
> We created a dummy job that had an sequential stage input, a
> transform, and a sequential output. As a before job subroutine, we
> called the SP.bat. The input sequential file was empty and this job
> essentially did nothing but run the stored procedure. This job could
> have easily included stages that accomplished something as well as
> running the stored procedure.
>
> That basically it, when this job ran - it ran the stored procedure by
> calling this SP.bat as a before job routine.
>
> Let me know if you need any additional information.
>
> Stacy
>
>
> --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > Stacy:
> >
> > This is exactly what I am thinking, Could you please explain it in
> > detail?
> >
> > Thank you very much
> >
> > xiong
> >
> > > -----Original Message-----
> > > From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> > > Sent: 09 March 2001 04:31
> > > To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> > > Subject: Re: run SP in datastage
> > >
> > > Xiong,
> > >
> > > There may be a more efficient way to do this, but you can add the
> > SP
> > > to a script and then call that script from a before or after job
> > > subroutine.
> > >
> > > Hope that helps !
> > > Stacy Scoggins
> > > --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > > > Hi, all
> > > >
> > > > I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix
> > database,
> > > > This store
> > > > procedure can unload result inside procedure into an existing
> > table
> > > > . so
> > > > what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by
> > using
> > > > Datastage
> > > > job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.
> > > >
> > > > Thanks in advance.
> > > >
> > > > xiong
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > >
> > >
> > > __________________________________________________
> > > Do You Yahoo!?
> > > Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> > > http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
> >
>
>
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/


*************************************************************************
This e-mail and any files transmitted with it may be confidential
and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to
whom they are addressed. If you have received this e-mail in
error, please notify the sender by return e-mail, and delete this
e-mail from your in-box. Do not copy it to anybody else

*************************************************************************
admin
Posts: 8720
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 11:26 pm

Post by admin »

Hi,

I have done the job to run store procedure in datastage. The method I use is as follows:

1. modified the SP to return a total rows number Trows of unloading(inside
SP) rows produced by SP. this is for ODBC stage output.
2. Created a dummy datastage job:

ODBC Stage1 --------------------------------------------->
ODBC Stage 2
(call sp, output Trows ) (dummy
input)

3. from Stage1, output jobname, extraction datetime, Trows,
4. created a new stage to update the existing jobname, extraction datetime, Trows columns of a control table.

Any more advise?

By the way, could anybody please supply some reference to me?

Thanks in advance

xiong
> -----Original Message-----
> From: David Barham [SMTP:David.Barham@Anglocoal.com.au]
> Sent: 09 March 2001 19:14
> To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> Subject: RE: run SP in datastage
>
> Some more food (or options) for thought.
>
> To make it more obvious, Id think about having a job whose sole
> purpose in life is to run this script and put the code to run the
> script on the job control instead of in a before-job routine.
>
> Another thought. You might like to try calling the procedure from
> ODBC, called from Basic code. I think it can handle stored
> procedures. This would involve learning a bit more about how to call
> ODBC though. (I forget which manual it is in - Im sure Ray or
> someone else can supply the reference for you.)
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Xiong Li [SMTP:Xiong.Li@nzbsg.co.nz]
> Sent: Friday, March 09, 2001 9:57 AM
> To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> Subject: RE: run SP in datastage
>
> Hi, Stacy
>
> Good point, I know what I should do.
>
> Thanks you very much,
>
> xiong
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> > Sent: 09 March 2001 09:00
> > To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> > Subject: RE: run SP in datastage
> >
> > Xiong
> >
> > In the specific example that I am thinking of, we were using an NT
> > Server as the DS server using DS 3.63, loading to an Oracle
> > Database. SQL + was installed on the DS Server.
> >
> > We had the DBA write a script/batch that could be called from the
> > command line of the NT Server. For example, lets say the script
> > was called SP.bat.
> >
> > We created a dummy job that had an sequential stage input, a
> > transform, and a sequential output. As a before job subroutine, we
> > called the SP.bat. The input sequential file was empty and this job
> > essentially did nothing but run the stored procedure. This job
> > could have easily included stages that accomplished something as
> > well as running the stored procedure.
> >
> > That basically it, when this job ran - it ran the stored procedure
> > by calling this SP.bat as a before job routine.
> >
> > Let me know if you need any additional information.
> >
> > Stacy
> >
> >
> > --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > > Stacy:
> > >
> > > This is exactly what I am thinking, Could you please explain it in
> > > detail?
> > >
> > > Thank you very much
> > >
> > > xiong
> > >
> > > > -----Original Message-----
> > > > From: Stacy Scoggins [SMTP:rsscoggins@yahoo.com]
> > > > Sent: 09 March 2001 04:31
> > > > To: informix-datastage@oliver.com
> > > > Subject: Re: run SP in datastage
> > > >
> > > > Xiong,
> > > >
> > > > There may be a more efficient way to do this, but you can add
> > > > the
> > > SP
> > > > to a script and then call that script from a before or after job
> > > > subroutine.
> > > >
> > > > Hope that helps !
> > > > Stacy Scoggins
> > > > --- Xiong Li wrote:
> > > > > Hi, all
> > > > >
> > > > > I am creating a job to run store procedure in informix
> > > database,
> > > > > This store
> > > > > procedure can unload result inside procedure into an existing
> > > table
> > > > > . so
> > > > > what I actually want is to run this procedure every night by
> > > using
> > > > > Datastage
> > > > > job. Can anyone tell me how to do it.
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks in advance.
> > > > >
> > > > > xiong
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > __________________________________________________
> > > > Do You Yahoo!?
> > > > Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> > > > http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
> > >
> >
> >
> >
> > __________________________________________________
> > Do You Yahoo!?
> > Get email at your own domain with Yahoo! Mail.
> > http://personal.mail.yahoo.com/
>
>
> **********************************************************************
> ***
> This e-mail and any files transmitted with it may be confidential
> and are intended solely for the use of the individual or entity to
> whom they are addressed. If you have received this e-mail in
> error, please notify the sender by return e-mail, and delete this
> e-mail from your in-box. Do not copy it to anybody else
>
> **********************************************************************
> ***
Locked