How to pass output of one sp as input to other sp

Post questions here relative to DataStage Server Edition for such areas as Server job design, DS Basic, Routines, Job Sequences, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
harithay
Participant
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:51 pm

How to pass output of one sp as input to other sp

Post by harithay »

Hi All,

I am running sql server stored Prcoedure using ODBC stage, with input parameters which returns output 'sequence key, return code.

i am storing its output in a sequential file.

this 'sequnce key' should go as input parameter value to second stored procedure.


how can i pass 'sequence key' value from sequential file to second stored procedure (which i am going call with ODBC).
rleishman
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 252
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 10:28 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Post by rleishman »

This comes up at least once-per-week. Search the forum.
Ross Leishman
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Can't you just pass the value along a link to the ODBC stage that invokes the second Stored Procedure?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
harithay
Participant
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 10:51 pm

Post by harithay »

Thanks Ray.
ray.wurlod wrote:Can't you just pass the value along a link to the ODBC stage that invokes the second Stored Procedure?
.

yes, i did that.

ODBC(SP1)----TRANSOFORMER---seq (first job)

seq--- transofrmer---ODBC(SP2). (second job)

After executing second SP, i need to pass its out put parameter value to third job.

after finsihing second job, i am able to load table in database. but i need to one output column to third job.

i want get resultset (return value) from SP2


How can i do that.

Thanks
Post Reply