Page 1 of 1

Error in the response of a webservice

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:57 pm
by suryadev
I see the output in this way.....

nique_row_id><reason>Name,&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;&#0;</reason><first_nm xsi:nil="

and the below error

java.io.IOException: Character reference "&#0" is an invalid XML character

the output has to be only Name....but I see all the other characters....which results to error...


Do I need to change anything?

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 7:53 pm
by ray.wurlod
You have a data type CHAR in your data, which DataStage has padded with the default string pad character 0x00 because of how the environment variable APT_STRING_PADCHAR has been set.

Either change the data type to VARCHAR and trim it, or specify " " as the pad character for CHAR data type.

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:32 pm
by suryadev
where can I change the environment variable?apt_string_padchar....
I can see the output properly in a sequential file but when I change the target as WISD output.....I see the data....in that manner with an error also.

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:49 pm
by ray.wurlod
Load the environment variable as a job parameter. Then you can change its default value and, if necessary, override its default value at run time.

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 5:39 am
by eostic
One additional note....I had a funny thing happen once with this variable where I had to set it to a single space.....with no quotes.....to get it to work.

Ernie

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 8:55 am
by suryadev
Thanks,

I can see the output now

but it appears as NAME@@@@@@@@

any other change for only NAME

I used apt_string_padchar as job parameter and made it 0x40...

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:29 am
by eostic
hex 40's are mainframe EBCDIC blanks... you probably want hex 20's (ASCII blanks). Or just use a single space in the display editor. Internally it should be a hex 20.

Ernie

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:18 am
by suryadev
output now is "Name(emptyspace)"

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:34 am
by suryadev
where can I find the display editor?

will that allow me to send perfect response with out spaces
I mean "Name " to "Name"

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:03 am
by eostic
see what happens if you use varchar on the final link instead...perhaps trimming it beforehand if necessary. You will have to redeploy the application.

Ernie